Horn Quintet Maximize

Horn Quintet

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 
Arranger: Kenneth C. Henslee 
Instrumentation: Woodwind Quintet: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, French Horn and Bassoon 
Performance Time: 19:00
Price: $12.00

More details



Shipping Rates

» Add to my wishlist

Mozart’s Horn Quintet in Eb Major, K407 was originally composed toward the end of 1782 in Vienna for Horn and String Quartet (Violin, 2 Violas and Cello). Mozart was entering a period of great success and productivity and probably the happiest time of his life. He was becoming settled in Vienna, establishing himself as a composer and a teacher, and enjoying the first years of marriage to Constanze Weber. The Quintet is the work of a composer delighting in the art of composition. Each of the three movements is a paragon of balance and tonal beauty with the added pleasure of classic Mozartian humor, the sine qua non of most every work written for Leitgreb. Many have place the Quintet alongside the concertos, and with good reason. Throughout, the horn proudly displays its brilliance against what is most often, with the exception of the second movement, accompaniment in the strings. The Rondo finale brings the work to an appropriately bold and sparkling close, with the horn afforded one last chance to display it virtuosity.