Pilgrimage Maximize


Duo Oktava invites the listener to a colourful musical journey on their debut release Pilgrimage. The works presented here are written by composers from six different countries, each inspired by traditional music from their part of the world. All works were composed in the 20th century, but several of them incorporate stylistic elements from the Baroque, Romantic and Neoclassical periods.

More details



On sale On sale!



Shipping Rates

» Add to my wishlist

The violist Povilas Syrrist-Gelgota and the cellist Toril Syrrist-Gelgota have played together as Duo Oktava since 1998. They are both members of the Osla Philharmonic Orchestra and have established themselves as exciting chamber musicians both in Norway and abroad. The duo has appeared at several international festivals and has given concerts in Norway and many other European countries. 

Toril studied with Truls Mork and Aage Kvalbein at the Norwegian Academy of Music and with Silvija Sondeckiene at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre; Povilas studied with Lars Anders Tomter (Norwegian Academy of Music), Jack Glickman (Guildhall School of Music and Drama), Pierre-Henri Xuereb (Conservatoire national superérieur de musique et de danse de Paris) and Petras Radzevièius (Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre). 

From the start Duo Oktava has made an effort to uncover music originally written for viola and cello. Their Search has resulted in an extensive and varied repertoire of music by more than 200 composers from different periods.

Inspiring composers to write new music for viola and cello is another ambition, and the duo sees it as a great honour and a recognition of their work that several composers have written pieces especially for Duo Oktava.

1. Partita Brevis 2 by Kjell Mork Karlsen

Bucolics by Witold Lutoslawski:
2. Allegro Vivace
3. Allegretto Sostenuto, Poco Rubato
4. Allegro Molto
5. Andantino
6. Allegro Marciale

Partita by Noam Sheriff:
7. Prelude
8. Sarabande
9. Allemande
10. Menuetto
11. Gigue

12. In Memoriam by Rasa Bartkeviciute

Suite for Viola and Violoncello by Mert Karabey:
13. Andante con passione
14. Larghetto
15. Presto
16. Allegretto
17. Adagio desolato

Duo by Walter Piston:
18. Allegro Risoluto
19. Andante Sereno
20. Allegro Brilliante