Divertimento, Op. 59 Maximize

Divertimento, Op. 59

Composer: Johannes Wenzeslaus Kalliwoda (1801-1866) 
Arranger: Kenneth C. Henslee 
Instrumentation: Woodwind Sextet: 2 French Horns, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon 
Performance Time: 12:00
Price: $14.00

More details



Shipping Rates

» Add to my wishlist

During the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, musicians were commonly employed by royalty. One such court musician of the nineteenth century was the Bohemian-born composer Johannes Wenzeslaus Kalliwoda. Despite some notable symphonies, some fine church and chamber music, and at least one opera, Johannes Kalliwoda received only modest attention during his lifetime and remains an obscure composer with few enduring accomplishments to his name. Composing music for various occasions was one of Johannes Kalliwoda's career responsibilities at the court, but perhaps secondary to his numerous other duties. Kalliwoda's only composition teacher was Dionys Weber (1766-1824), a Bohemian composer whose musical style was developed at Prague and reflected his admiration of Mozart. As a result, Kalliwoda's compositional style is closely associated with late eighteenth century German classicism. Most of Johannes's early works were impressive, containing beautiful melodic phrases and a degree of originality. In fact, from 1825 to the middle of the century, Kalliwoda's works were widely performed. Works on a larger scale included his seven symphonies. The First Symphony, one of his best known works, won much acclaim for its fresh, new style. Music scholars felt his counterpoint and themes were comparable to Schumann and Beethoven. Despite Kalliwoda's declining reputation in his later life, his output of works was impressive, numbering almost two hundred and fifty compositions, many of which have never been published. Finding some of these unpublished manuscripts have resulted in additional literature, particularly for wind instruments.